Finding a Way

I didn’t expect to find myself living in Washington D.C., but at the same time that the small Southern city that I previously lived in decided to uproot our small garden to install new water pipes, I had an opportunity for career growth that was enough to uproot our family and make the move to a large city.  Now I’m finding my way around a new neighborhood, incorporating alternate modes of transportation into my daily routine, and exploring a new part of the city each week.  This blog will chronicle those adventures for fresh and seasoned residents, alike.

This wayfinding, in the experience of choosing a path in an urban environment, usually starts with the Metro, bus or rail, and often turns into long treks through the city streets, with frequent stops at interesting shops, restaurants, events and exhibits. I can already attribute much of the successful travels to the ease of use of the public transit system here, and to the Metro map design of Lance Wyman.  Interestingly, he is currently revisiting and revising that design to extend to additional stations, as explained in this Washington Post article.  I can’t wait to see the design and where the new routes lead.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

